4 school board candidates join forces


Four Sparta Area School District board candidates have collaborated to run as a slate, according to a news release issued Monday.

Marla Leverich, Pat McKenna, Amy Lopez and Jason Perry will be running as a team of four on a platform of issues they see as key for the Sparta Area School Board: “Parents’ rights and input, responsible spending, common sense decision-making and district leadership that represents you,” according to the release.

The four have been critical of the current administration, masking policies and district spending.

There will be a primary election on Feb. 15 to narrow the nine candidates to eight for the April 5 election.

Joining the four on the primary ballot will be Ed Lukasek, John Hendricks, Anthony Scholze, Todd Wells and Tanya Morene.

Two seats are up for the normal rotation of three-year terms, while the other two are for the seats vacated by Eric Solberg and Nancy Sikorsky. Hendricks and Scholze, respectively, are currently filling those positions until the election.

The top two vote-getters will be elected to the three-year seats, while the following two will be elected to the remaining year of Solberg’s and Sikorsky’s former seats.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here